Creating Your Career Inventory

Before I write, I want to say thank you in advance for reading my blog, I welcome feedback and requests and look forward to hearing from you. In the New Year, we make resolutions, which commonly we don’t end up keeping. It begins with lose more weight, create a financial plan, say “no” more often, be more social, clean-out the closet, but what about committing to conducting a career inventory? Where is that on the list?

Recently I went on a “Reset” vacation. The islands of Hawaii, the water, the mountains, and the fresh air; the attitude created an environment where I felt so charged about my career goals, it resulted in me creating a mental inventory and mental map of what I want in my career.

In creating this mental inventory and mental map, I wanted to share what decisions I made and how you can do the same. It started with a book I read, Blink by Malcolm Gladwell. After reading the book, I asked myself, why I don’t trust my instinct as much as I should? Had I trusted my instinct more, I would not only, had made better decisions in general, but also, more efficient decisions when it came to my career.

Decision-making is half of what we do in our career, and I don’t just mean on the job, but what leads us to decide what we study in school, how we use it to our advantage and how we market our personal brand; in today’s job-market it’s about your brand, not just what you write on your resume.

Before I continue to write about my decisions, I will outline how I created my inventory and how I mapped out my decisions. It may sound like, “oh goodness, how much time will it take, I barely have any anyway,” when actually, it’s easier thank you think. Before you read further, grab your iPad, notebook, journal, anything that helps your create the space you need with yourself, to reflect, not to just think, take this a step further.  Dig deep, and ask yourself, am I really where I want to be? In fact if you have not ever actually kept a journal, or written down your inner most-thoughts, I recommend Penzu. Now here are the four areas I actively, over and over again, evaluated:

1)    Competencies – The word competency is defined as the “ability to do something successfully and efficiently.” What are your best competencies? Review your resume- look at your accomplishments, and when you read them, what provokes you to jump for joy? Take note of that, and embellish those competencies in how you focus your career. Ask yourself, is this my passion or am I missing something? Take it a step further, where did you see yourself in high school? Is that where you are now, or is there a missing link?

2)    Education – Common concerns about education are time, money and logistics. My advice, think about each bridge separately. What I mean is, why think about money and logistics when you haven’t even, sent in your application or taken the entrance exam? Think about crossing that bridge when it comes, otherwise step back and realize that the best investment you can make is in yourself. To start off, remember bad debt vs. good debt. Lets put it this way, buying a new car is bad debt, because the minute you drive it off, you’re losing that much money. When you go to school, you gain knowledge, networking contacts and opportunities. You are hired for your capital, your mind, and the value you add- can you really go wrong here?

3)    Career Focus – Thinking about the career you have chosen, ask yourself where do you see yourself in five years. Define your gap, and analyze what you require yourself to commit to in a list of action steps to fill this gap.  Think about the word focus, it’s not objective, keep yourself open to different opportunities which can take you further to what you want, because, you may surprise yourself.

4)    Personality – Known as your personal brand- what are you known for and what do people ask you for the most? Do you adequately market these qualities effectively in business meetings, job interviews and through your online image? Why or why not? Talk to people, your references, past colleagues, your friends, and check-in with yourself. Sell you, not just your resume.

Now using these four key areas, here are the decisions I made about my career:

1)    Competencies – It’s my nature to write. Whether I write a poem, a blog, or contribute as a guest writer, a big decision I made, is incorporating my writing talents with my professional field of human resources. Within the past ten years, the image of human resources has changed tremendously. Whether I work as a consultant or as an employee, it’s not enough. I want to be a part of the change, taking place within my field, and write about it. This is step one.

2)    Career Focus – Teaching has always been a passion of mine, and, before my vacation, I did take a step, and started with one client. It feels amazing that I can sit with senior citizens, and teach them how to use computers. Most of my background is Adult Training, both classroom and e-learning based- taking this step further is a big part of how I define being happy. Making a difference in someone else’s life is why I have always loved teaching.

3)    Education – Furthering my education has been on my mind for a while. I debated for a long time (three years) about programs, what suited me best, and why it would help me. Finally, I’ve realized how to align my education with passion of planning, organizing, leading, developing and learning; how people grow both professionally and personally is a big part of success and productivity- this is where I want to maintain my focus. I’ve created my list, with programs focusing on Organizational Development, Communications and International Education.

4)     Personality- I have always and continue to maintain a balance in everything I do. My professional work, personal commitments and my energy. I have often been told, that I do balance myself effectively and a continuing issue for predominantly North American’s is Work-Life Balance. To further myself in this area, I am pursuing a WLCP Designation, and will use my background with wellness (dance, writing and health) to effectively create a healthier workforce.

4 thoughts on “Creating Your Career Inventory

  1. An entrepreneur does many wonderful things. In fact, many people
    are awestruck with how the entrepreneurs mind works.
    In what way does an entrepreneur become successful? And of the most importance, do you have the desire to be a successful entrepreneur, too?

    1. Success is a process and accepting that is half of how we do it. My desire is happiness, and knowledge, creativity and developing is how I attain my happiness, so yes I have the desire for it. What about you?

Leave a Reply

