Why I Started my HR Firm

Why I Started my HR Firm

I’ve actually always wanted to do this. Of course, I somehow did not explain why and here is the story.

I needed to be at a point in my life where I knew I had to make that big step, that big move to bring myself to the next level of just being myself, living out my passion and most of all what I knew would bring me the most happiness. That point came to me this past December of 2011. I had finished a job in October and took some time off before I made this decision.

I picked up a book by Susan Sly, The Have It All Woman. I remember talking with my brother, and telling him that ultimately I wanted my own business, and he gave me a “quick summary” of what the key things would be to make this happen. The book I read had a major part in making my decision, because in all the exercises (and yes to truly benefit from a self-help book, you MUST do all the exercises) I realized how tired I am already of just plain old admin, admin and more admin work I had been doing; how much I still want to travel because it’s something I love to do; how much I value work-life balance and ultimately making my own hours and nobody can tell me anything about how I run it- it’s me, myself and I.

Before I plunged into making business cards, customizing my Facebook page, creating my website on my apple (should be done hopefully soon) and now my blog, I had registered as a National Recruiter (in Nov) through a Split Network and in the training manual, it also explained everything about how to build your own business. I was even more excited because there was my answer. Since then I’ve completed the training and also secured myself as an International Placements Director with GEM Consultancy and worked with a career advisor to keep myself on the right track.

The moral of the story, do not undersell yourself, do not take yourself for granted, do not settle for second best- aim for the stars, stay true to who you are, even if its that unpredictable, with success comes failure and rejection, it’s a part of the world we live in and as the world changes, I change with, so remember the slogan from Nike, just do it!!!!

2 thoughts on “Why I Started my HR Firm

  1. Hi A,
    Great Blog! Keep up the good work. I read a lot of “self-help” books. They are probably the only kind of books that make positive sense and help us kick off our lives. Everyone needs a component of coaching in their lives.

    If you look at most business today and their front line workers and their attitudes, you tend to wonder about the up-line structure.

    Make a change and congratulations!

    1. Thank you Sherif! You’re right, “self-help” books aside from inspirational books only bring positive energy into our lives, would love to chat with you about reading one evening! Thanks so much for your support 🙂

Leave a Reply

